PARCC….My Thoughts

Jumbled post tonight…lots of thoughts on this topic.

So…I stopped by my son’s school today during lunch.  During my time talking with my little guy, I asked him how PARCC testing was going.  He said “fine”.  I asked him how he likes the test (fully expecting eye rolling, groaning, dramatics)… he said “it’s cool, I like it. It’s on the computer”.  I was surprised.  But I was also happy to hear that PARCC testing is not the demoralizing, horrible experience that I have read about in a variety of articles and blog posts.  Exhale.

I have to admit, given the many aspects of my own identity (racial minority, mother, former teacher, former administrator, etc.), standardized tests have a funny place in my own heart… On one hand, standardized tests give us important data about how children are doing, particularly when disaggregated by race/income.  They push us to see “ability” in kids who we never considered, beyond using our biased and privileged beliefs and mindsets (and subsequent perceptions).  They also push us to see trends among groups.  To see who is faring well and not, in our current way of operating.  On the other hand, they don’t and can never give us the full story about any child (hopes, dreams, aspirations, challenges, value), or even the full story about any school or district (hopes, dreams, aspirations, challenges, value).  They should direct our attention to more fully and deeply understand the story, which should inform our response (if the story should be challenged or affirmed).

When I was in 5th grade, I was given a standardized gifted test to see if I qualified for gifted services.  The results stated that I was not gifted.  As a result, I did not receive access to gifted enrichment services.  I also remember taking the Illinois Prairie State exam in elementary (I think that is what it was called) and testing off the charts in language/reading/vocabulary, but dismally under-performing in math.  Those test results made me feel really smart, albeit not in math…  Those test results spoke value to me, particularly when I saw my grade level equivalents (high school for some).  They also spoke of my value to my parents and teachers.  When I immigrated from Canada in 4th grade, I was placed in the lowest reading group; this was in spite of my native English language ability (English in an official language in Canada,..lol).  It was also in spite of my ability/strength as an avid/fluent reader.  I read voraciously at home; I literally kept a flashlight on the side of my bed, so that I could get lost in books at night after everyone had fallen asleep.  My teacher didn’t know any of this about me (“home life” can be conceptualized in one-dimensional ways).  She knew what I looked like, where I came from, and assigned me the lowest reading group.  It is 100% true that kids know who is in the “high” “middle” and “low” groups in any given classroom; I remember the shame and insecurity that came with being in the lowest group.  However, after my high language/reading/vocabulary scores, I was moved into the high reading group, and stayed there.  I was grateful for that.  Tests can never fully define anyone… that to me is obvious.  As I shared earlier in the post, I was not “gifted” but if you were to talk to my high school honors English teachers, they shared different and essential feedback with me. If you were to talk to some of my college professors, or the literary journal that published my work, or my mother :-), those standardized test results did not speak to my value or to a full definition of who I was.

I am acutely aware that much of my success (particularly as a female racial minority) has come from my ability to navigate systems that have been defined by white dominant culture.  One of those systems is standardized testing.  The opt-out movement will not help my children (who are racial minorities) gain access to social capital/power, which they will need to navigate society in a way that doesn’t leave them completely powerless.  I am not ascribing to assimilation here as I want them to be able to navigate society with their sense of self and community in tact.  Even if I fundamentally disagree with PARCC (design, process, purpose), my children need to know how to navigate that aspect of the system, as they need to know how to navigate many other things (as I have navigated) to have access to a fuller range of life choices/opportunities.  It is hard enough for racial minorities to gain access to college; there are so many hoops to jump through.  If I opt my children out of standardized testing, how am I really preparing them to effectively navigate these and other hoops?

When I stepped into the principal position at Garden Hills, one of the many labels that was ascribed to the school was the honor of having some of the lowest test scores in the district at the elementary level.  We also served the highest percentage of children living in poverty, the highest number of children identified as homeless, and one of the largest populations of children living in the foster system.  I was excited by this context.  To me, if you couldn’t be successful in this context, then  you could never claim to be a master teacher or an effective leader in the public school system.  I didn’t care about the stigma or professional risk involved in taking over a building that many were afraid to attach themselves to professionally.  Once starting, I quickly surrounded myself with a powerful administrative and instructional leadership team, rolled up my sleeves, and got to work.  My first year at Garden Hills was one of my most challenging yet triumphant professional experiences (in so many ways).  I could literally see the school begin to transform.  I could see the adults transforming, in such beautiful, courageous, and powerful ways.  No standardized test score could capture the courage, resilience, and growth that was developing in my building.  Knowing this, I tried my best to educate perspective parents and community members about standardized tests and the dangers in choosing a school for their child/creating a story for the school solely based off of test scores.

I see a movement towards anti-testing on a national, state, and local level, which concerns me, because I believe that it is a movement steeped in privilege.  I see a lot of privileged blind spots in that movement.  For one, it is difficult to identify achievement gaps (opportunity and access gaps) without this kind of testing accountability in place.  Continuing to disaggregate the data by race and income-level is absolutely needed.  I am 100% confident in saying that, given my experiences in education (now for over a decade), that I generally don’t trust the people who are leading schools, systems, and classrooms to acknowledge these gaps and to do something about them without this accountability measure, no matter how poorly designed the measure may be.  We need an accountability measure.  I also want to share that when groups of children do poorly, that if we interpret that as innate inferiority (biological or cultural), that this interpretation is a lazy and convenient one.  Gaps should inform where we focus energy to develop true understanding of root cause before designing strategy for improvement.  The ways that we respond actually skirt root causes and contribute to the continued widening of the achievement gap.  A close examination of the most recent data for all Champaign Unit 4 schools (I’ll focus on elementary) along racial lines points to a persistent and dramatic achievement gap with black children (45 percentage points in reading/ 47 percentage points in math), English language learners (41 percentage points in reading/20 percentage points in math), and low-income children (45 percentage points in reading/ 41 percentage points in math) solidly at the bottom.  The data has shown perpetual, continued increases/widening since the 2008-2009 school year.  The conclusion that some have come to (whether they’ve voiced it or not) is that these children and their families are inferior (biologically, socially, culturally, etc.) and that the results are simply evidence of that.  The conclusion that I’ve come to given my own experience working in high-poverty schools across state lines is that schools and districts haven’t really made the commitment to adjust the way they serve children to meet their needs.  An inconvenient truth is that schools and districts operate in this way directly because of the operating principles, values, and norms of larger mainstream society.  The truth is that surface level-interventions (my God there are so many in this community, state, and nation) and status-quo policies and practices (ie. self-contained gifted programming/suspension/expulsion) produce no results (or limited results) along equity lines.  Yet we continue to pursue them for fear of disrupting the status quo that keeps inequities solidly in place.  We have been doing this for so long that we now have generations who have come to expect that schooling be perpetuated in this way, because it is what we have known.  We have leadership (classroom, school, district, society in general) that is not courageous/empowered enough to challenge those norms in the best interest of the groups that need it most.

My hope for my son who is taking the PARCC test this week…. I hope that he understands that he can do it.  That he must do his best.  That even if he does his best, that the test won’t being to speak to his value.  It won’t begin to speak to his potential.  It won’t begin to speak to his dreams.  It will speak to a snapshot of his knowledge and his ability to navigate this hurdle (one of many hurdles that he will face as a man of color), at this moment in time.  I want him to know that I expect him to do it. That he must. That he represents himself, our family, and our community in what he demonstrates (whether that is fair or not, which is another life lesson that I want him to internalize…life isn’t fair…you must pursue life in the best way you can in spite of the cards that you’ve been dealt, and the things that suck about it).  I want him to know that he has ancestors who triumphed in much greater ways.  Who persevered in the face of more explicit struggles.  That he is not alone in our experience, and that he must continue to pursue life, with a passion and purpose that he has defined for himself (ideally in collaboration with God).   I want him to know that I love him and that I will be in his corner.  Always.   ‪#‎ungiftedbutsuccessfulmom‬ ‪#‎mykidwilltakethetests‬‪ #‎mykidwillalsoknowthetestsplaceinhislife‬ ‪#‎notopposedtoPARCC‬

5 thoughts on “PARCC….My Thoughts

  1. Cheryl,

    Thanks for spilling your thoughts on this topic. You touched on many things and I cannot possibly address all of them, so allow me to focus on a small number.

    First, know that I very much agree with you. Even to the point that I have mellowed out a bit in terms of my own negative stance towards PARCC. So the rest of this comment is my way of clarifying and continuing the conversation as I explore my own thoughts on this topic.

    You put in bold “we need an accountability measure”; the context being that of achievement gaps and how testing (even if it is bad testing) provides some way to gauge that gap. I will come back to the privilege piece you mentioned, but focusing on the fact that you pointed out in terms of the achievement gap actually increasing since 2008, what has testing done for us these past 7 years? “(S)chools and districts haven’t really made the commitment to adjust the way they serve children to meet their needs.” Perhaps your point is that testing has shown that such a gap exists. But I want to go to the next step – ok, we know the gap was such-and-such in 2008, and now it is slightly worse in 2015, what do we do with that knowledge?

    Here is another relevant kicker for me; for the 2015 implementation of the PARCC, there are currently no methods to provide teachers with aggregated data from the tests. Yes, ISBE is working on making that happen, but that is still in the “maybe” category.

    I would be willing to believe that Unit 4 has indeed put in place several forms of intervention to remediate this trend. But I do not know what they are. I am aware of the excellent programs at Novak Academy, ACTIONS and READY, which strive to patch up the holes in the “standard” public school, but it is not clear to me if these programs are directly related to the achievement gap or not. What have we done to act on the knowledge testing has given us?

    Now to privilege. And yes, I am going to bring up Lisa Delpit again. 🙂 Having read your own perspective, I can see how the “opt-out movement” looks like it is steeped in privilege; I had not consider that aspect before. I will tell my own story (brief version). I saw a class take a practice test. One child with a diagnosed behavioral issue didn’t get past the first question because he didn’t like it and thought it was boring. Another child, whom I know from being in the class once a week, flat out told me he hates the test and didn’t want to do it after trying a few questions; he looked sad and depressed. These two boys are firmly planted in my mind now; what can we do to assess or measure these two precious children in such a way as to improve their lives? For me, the answer is simple – the teacher already has an excellent grasp of their progress, and the test is simply a distraction. These are “other people’s children”. I am not worried about my daughter, she will be fine either way. I know it is not my job, but I had to stop and wonder, what do these two students really need at this point in time? And I have no frickin’ clue.

    The last straw for me was the potential threat of tying teacher evaluations to PARCC tests. I think my child’s teacher is excellent despite the test, not because of it. The teacher is already doing phenomenal things to encourage both those two students whom I remember so well.

    I have since backed off considerably; now my attitude is that I just want to support the teacher. Tests will come and go. Hopefully they will get better (I am told they already are better).

    Your last paragraph is very motivational. 🙂 It reminds me of a “Social Justice” session that Ellen Dahlke led a while ago at the Mellon Center, focusing on Tupac’s “A rose grew out of the concrete”. You want your son to be that rose. I am thankful that God made a natural order in which green things will always, eventually, overcome man-made obstacles.

    Like

    • Hi Charles- Thanks for sharing your thoughts on a few of my thoughts :-). I am away on vacation, but will write more that your post brings up for me on Tuesday when I return home. I would love to know why you think that ACTIONS is a successful intervention. I am genuinely curious. Who is ACTIONS designed for? Who is served by ACTIONS? What longitudinal data (or short-term data) speaks to the success of the program? Has it stopped the discipline gaps that clearly exist between different racial groups? Has the disproportionality ratio started to close? Has it stopped the expulsion gap? How many children have been expelled from the district in the past 5 years, and what is the racial composition of those children? Has ACTIONS helped to reverse past trends? I know some good people who work at ACTIONS. Once again, my questions are not an attack on any person. I ask these questions because they are the questions that I would need to have answered before throwing my full support or even words like “successful” around.

      I am glad that your child’s teacher is excellent despite the test. My child’s teacher is excellent too. However, that is not the reality for all children, which is why I believe we need to ask tougher questions and hold a higher bar for programming and interventions before deeming them successful.

      I’ll write more later.

      Like

      • Excellent questions to be asked. However that might open up a rabbit hole of other questions. For example, what exaclty is succcess? How many children must be positively impacted before one can apply the label of success?

        It is appropriate that we ask these questions, to “hold a higher bar” and demand that such programs and interventions attain those levels of standards and achievement. But exactly how do we measure that? You asked for data – what data is appropriate for measuring? I ask because I do not know and wish to learn. If five fewer students were expelled this year, can we attribute that to ACTIONS?

        The overall context of this thread is PARCC, which (in my opinion) has pretty clear goals, a rubric with right answers and some wiggle room for students to express their understanding of the material. It is an assessment tool that seeks to codify the loose standards of Common Core. Yet even as we have discovered in each of our comments about PARCC, we have acknowledged that PARCC does not fully assess the whole child. How would one deem public education itself a success? What measuring stick do we use for such? I think it comes down to what exaclty the goal of public education is.

        So what is the objective we are aiming for? If the purpose of public education is to equip people with the skills of life-long learning such that they might be productive in society, does it “fail” if even one student is not productive?

        The larger context on your blog (which I really appreciate, by the way) is equity and addressing those sometimes taboo topics of race and social justice. I love that you ask questions focusing on the gaps/inequities in discipline and who is being served. When I was at ACTIONS, I saw one classroom with 4 children and another with 3 – a teacher-to-student ratio of 3 to 7, not counting the other adults (administrative staff). This ratio changes on a daily basis. I witnessed children learning really fundamental life skills like how to deal with conflict, how to stand up for what is right and speak out against what is wrong. As much as I place a high value on those types of lessons, I do not have any clue how to measure whether that is “successful” or not. I have to believe it leads to fewer incidents and plants the seed for healthier relationships, but there are so many variables involved I cannot possibly pick out just one or two and grade it.

        I look forward to your response. You have a ton more professional experience in education than I do (I have zero, therefore you have infinitely more experience *grin*). I desire to learn from your perspective.

        Like

  2. Okay I’m back!

    I agree that social skills are important, but I question the assumption that we sometimes make that the kids who get suspended or who get in trouble (who by the way, are largely black and poor), don’t have social skills. There is an assumption that if kids get suspended, then they need social skills. This approach focuses on problematizing the child, and focuses on perceived deficits (ie. social skills). As a former teacher and principal, I can say with confidence, there are some kids who need this, albeit a small minority (in my experience). In my experience, most kids who act out, act out because 1) they are responding to cultural conflict between them and the teacher. This is really hard to explain to people who have not lived it. I will try. I have had some teachers, who I knew viewed me through a deficit lens. They interpreted my actions and inactions through this lens, which resulted in me sometimes being labeled in ways that were really not accurate. In their classes, I often gave less effort and pushed back more often (either passively or aggressively). Lisa Delpit speaks to this response to low expectations or expectations that are deficit-laden. Children sometimes get in trouble because 2) there are unclear and/or low expectations and follow-through on the part of the teacher and/or school. I have seen it play out again and again and there are huge discrepancies based on race, income and perceived parent “involvement”. So when programs problematize children instead of examining the practices and policies of the adults who are paid to teach and lead, I find the programming to be problematic. If Unit 4 took all of the resources/money/time/etc. that it is pouring into programs like ACTIONS. and focused on mandatory professional development on culturally responsive practices for teachers, a highly intentional hiring process for principals and teachers who have the desire and skill to teach children from backgrounds different from theirs, support/protection for educators who champion equity, and courageous evaluation practices, instead of skirting around the real root causes/issues, then I would be the first to loudly applaud. However, I know that programs such as ACTIONS do little to make real and sustained change in our community.

    I am biased. My teaching experience has been 100% in low-income, majority minority schools. I successfully taught children who were poor/minority, because I refused to view them through a deficit lens and make assumptions about their potential. I believed in my kids. I had strong results. My kids grew over 2 years in reading (on average) and children who had been in behavioral trouble in prior years, thrived. I say this not to brag, but to emphasize that what we believe about children is incredibly powerful. So when I hear educators complaining about student behaviors and getting upset because they can’t teach other kids because of the “problems”, I have little patience…I taught kids who had already been given up on. And those kids taught me. They had as much (if not more) to offer as I did to them. I am better because I taught them. They came from “single parent households” “households with incarcerated parents” “households below the poverty line” “households involved in the foster system” etc., etc., etc. We make so many assumptions about kids who get in trouble at school (and their families/parents). I wish school districts would be courageous in asking tough questions of why kids get in trouble, and what the real root causes are before designing programs that make us feel better because “problems” are removed from classrooms and schools to learn social skills and do work under the supervision of educators outside of the classroom/school setting.

    As I stated earlier, some children really do need this support, but not the high number of children who have been suspended/referred to ACTIONS.

    I am also curious as to how you know that the child in the classroom you have observed has a behavioral disorder. That kind of information is supposed to be confidential and if my child were diagnosed as having a behavior or emotional disorder, I would be livid if this information were shared with classroom volunteers/observers. Standardized tests allow us to get a snapshot into how children are doing, including those with behavioral and emotional disorders. The children who you highlight are examples of why we need to keep accountability measures in place. They can learn. We can’t throw up our hands and be okay with them simply meeting milestones such as sitting at their desk, etc. They need to learn how to read, do math, and “do school” (which includes taking boring tests every once in a while).

    To explicitly get back to PARCC. No test will ever measure the whole child. But tests/accountability measures are necessary for us to pay attention to inequity that we perpetuate (knowingly or unknowingly) in our schools/systems. No test will point to root cause, only solid professional practice equips us to dig into root cause. However, the likelihood of us digging is drastically reduced when we don’t have accountability measures in place. Standardized tests such as PARCC should not drive instruction; there are other measures that educators can use to do that. But we need a macro lens into how kids are doing in our current systems, and standardized tests such as PARCC allow us to do that.

    Like

    • First, I would like to clarify a few of my points. I do not assume that children who undergo disciplinary measures are devoid of social skills. My own perception is that each and every one of us could use an extra dose of old school conflict resolution and learning how to communicate effectively. Myself included. Knowing that your statement is not targetted specifically towards me and that you are making a general statement, I would agree that there is a harmful “deficit mindset” in place that puts such kids into a very big bucket and tries to give them a miracle cure to “fix” them. You and I both know that what kids need, especially those that do not fit the “status quo”, are individualized attention and someone who seeks to find answers to those tough questions you mention that school districts should be asking; why are kids getting in trouble in the first place? For some reason, Becky G’s “I’m a problem” sticks in my head; is it the student that is the problem, or is it the system?

      Second, you were curious how I knew about the behavior disorder. I should clarify that I do not know that for a fact; this is a layman’s diagnosis my wife and I came to. I should point out that my heart goes out to any child who does not fit the “normal” label, and when I see a 9 or 10-year old, with no apparent outward signs of Down’s Syndrome, acting like my 2-year old son, I want to know what I can do to help. And quite possibly, maybe I would do more harm than good. I just don’t know the best thing to do. What does that child need? How can that child have a positive experience of school? What is most important to that child’s overall heath? I realize the school (and district) is exercising a form of inclusion, which I believe is good and healthy (having seen other kids with various forms of challenges that seem to enjoy being around others).

      I think at the root of all these issues, we most likely agree; we see the need for accountability measures, and we see the need for equity. As a white upper-middle-class male, I am but learning. I personally dislike standardized tests, but if others value them, I accept the situation as it is. If PARCC helps us march towards equity, awesome! But I would like to see that in action to be convinced. 🙂 The last I heard from ISBE is that they do not currently have a system in place to cycle the disaggregated PARCC results back to teachers, so it is not clear to me how teachers can possibly use this an opportunity for formative assessment.

      Like

Leave a comment